IPL in numbers: A statistical compilation

The carnival of cricket is back. As the IPL treads towards the much talked about tenth edition, history is about to be written and rewritten. There are records waiting to be tumbled past, as players compete for individual and collective glory.

In its illustrious 9-year old history, the IPL has seen players emerging and statisticians getting busy with their calculators. Sportwalk brings to you a thorough statistical preview of all that this tournament has seen.

Are you game?

Most Runs

Virat Kohli leads the chart, having taken over from a lackluster Suresh Raina last season. As the current Indian captain battles an injury in the initial stages, the stage is set for the twenty20 specialist to get back to the top once again.

Virat Kohli: 4110 runs
Suresh Raina: 4098 runs
Rohit Sharma: 3874 runs

Most Wickets

Lasith Malinga leads here by a margin that seems large enough for him to keep leading when the tournament ends. Followed by Amit Mishra and Dwayne Bravo who are 19 and 21 wickets apart from his tally, the fight for the second spot is on. Piyush Chawla at fourth (120) and Harbhajan at fifth (119) are not too far away either!

Lasith Malinga: 143 wickets
Amit Mishra: 124 wickets
Dwayne Bravo: 122 wickets

Best Batting Average (Minimum 2000 runs)

No surprises to this list as the big man from the Caribbean leads, having scored over 3400 runs despite playing less than a 100 matches! Shaun Marsh has shown remarkable consistency for the Kings XI Punjab since the very beginning and the name that follows, is almost synonymous with consistency.

Chris Gayle: 43.36
Shaun Marsh: 40.98
MS Dhoni: 39.40

Best Bowling Average (Minimum 50 wickets)

The Sri Lankan slinger leads again with his consistency throughout the Indian Premier League. His bowling average seems too hard to match for Sunil Narine, who finds himself the second spot behind Malinga. Sandeep Sharma, in his short IPL career, has managed to impress and the statistics seem to say the same.

Lasith Malinga: 17.80
Sunil Narine: 19.04
Sandeep Sharma: 22.01

Highest Batting Strike-Rate (Minimum 2000 runs)

Though Andre Russel tops this chart when runs are not taken into consideration, his bag of 574 runs isn’t enough for him to qualify. Virender Sehwag leads here, incredibly having scored faster than even the likes of Christopher Henry Gayle and Ab de Villiers.

Virender Sehwag: 155.44
Chris Gayle: 153.28
Ab de Villiers: 149.33

Highest Bowling Strike-Rate (Minimum 50 wickets)

Yet another bowling chart led by Lasith Malinga. While he comes sixth in the list where the number of wickets isn’t a parameter, his strike-rate of 16 having taken the most number of wickets is phenomenal. He is followed closely by DJ Bravo and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Lasith Malinga: 16.00
Dwayne Bravo: 16.54
Yuzvendra Chahal: 16.60

Most Fifties

In a format where hundreds are a rare sight, even fifties call for a celebration! This list is surprisingly led by the pocket dynamite, David Warner who has played a fair number of matches less than Gautam Gambhir who precedes him by one. Rohit Sharma also features in the list, having scored 2 less than the KKR skipper.

David Warner: 32
Gautam Gambhir: 31
Rohit Sharma: 29

Best Economy Rate (Minimum 50 wickets)

In a format that craves for boundaries, bowlers with the ability to halt the flow of runs are considered magicians. Hence, it is no surprise than KKR’s Sunil Narine tops this IPL list followed by Ravichandran Ashwin and Lasith Malinga.

Is there any bowling chart where Malinga doesn’t feature?

Sunil Narine: 6.17
Ravichandran Ashwin: 6.55
Lasith Malinga: 6.67

Other interesting facts & records:

  • The top 3 batsmen with most centuries in the tournament, all belong to the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chris Gayle leads with 5 followed by Virat Kohli (4) and Ab de Villiers (3)
  • Chris Gayle’s record of 251 sixes is almost impossible to emulate for a long, long time. He is followed by Rohit Sharma’s tally of 163 sixes.
  • Gayle also holds the highest individual score of 175* which is another improbable record to be emulated soon. That innings of his also got him the fastest century record, with him taking only 30 balls to get to the 100-run mark!
  • To top it all, the West Indian giant is the only player to have won the Orange Cap twice (2011 and 2012). Dwayne Bravo is the only player to have won the Purple Cap twice (2013 and 2015). Talk about Caribbean dominance!
  • Gautam Gambhir holds the record of most fours, leading by a margin of 62 against Suresh Raina’s tally of 360.
  • Amit Mishra and Yuvraj Singh are the only two players to have taken more than one hattrick in the tournament’s history. Mishra has 3 while Yuvraj has a couple.
  • Praveen Kumar has bowled an astounding number of dots balls in the IPL. His tally of 1035 is the highest by any bowler, followed by Steyn at 978. Incidentally, both play for the same team (Gujarat Lions)
  • PK also has the most number of maiden overs to his name (14) followed by Irfan Pathan (10)
  • Ishant Sharma, who replaced the injured Murali Vijay at Kings XI Punjab this year, holds the precarious record of conceding most runs in an innings. (66 runs in four overs against Chennai Super Kings)
  • Sohail Tanvir’s figures of 6/14 in the inaugural edition against Chennai are still the best for any bowler in the history of IPL

Strictly no spam mails !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.